Sanford And Son (Season 5) DVD Review

Winner of widespread critical and audience acclaim, Sanford And Son remained a mainstay of the Nielsen Top Ten from its inception into its final season on the air. Centered around the life of Fred Sanford, a sixty-year-old junkyard owner who lives with his son Lamont, Sanford And Son brought Redd Foxx from the dark backrooms of comedy halls to the forefront of American pop culture, making certain his talent didn’t go unnoticed. With numerous brilliant jabs, sarcastic comments, fake heart attacks, and other such shennanigans, Fred Sanford earned his place in the hallowed halls of TV history…

The Sanford & Son (Season 5) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere “Earthquake II” in which Fred wakes up believing the house was robbed only to find out that a small earthquake hit in the middle of the night. When Grady tells him that a “big one” is coming soon, Fred gets fed up and vows to sell the house. He travels to Las Vegas to avoid the earthquake, where he runs into Merv Griffin… Other notable episodes from Season 5 include “Donna Pops the Question” in which Donna receives a marriage proposal from another man, but wants to know first if Fred will marry her, and “Can You Chop This?” in which Fred invests all of his and Lamont’s money in a get rich quick scheme involving the sale of choppers…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sanford & Son (Season 5) DVD:

Episode 88 (Earthquake II) Air Date: 09-12-1975
Episode 89 (Divorce, Sanford Style) Air Date: 09-19-1975
Episode 90 (Bank on This) Air Date: 09-26-1975
Episode 91 (The Sanford Arms) Air Date: 10-03-1975
Episode 92 (Steinberg and Son) Air Date: 10-10-1975
Episode 93 (Brother, Can You Spare an Act?) Air Date: 10-17-1975
Episode 94 (Della, Della, Della) Air Date: 10-31-1975
Episode 95 (Donna Pops the Question) Air Date: 11-07-1975
Episode 96 (My Fair Esther) Air Date: 11-14-1975
Episode 97 (Sanford and Rising Son) Air Date: 11-21-1975
Episode 98 (The Olympics) Air Date: 12-05-1975
Episode 99 (Ebenezer Sanford) Air Date: 12-12-1975
Episode 100 (The Oddfather) Air Date: 01-02-1976
Episode 101 (Can You Chop This?) Air Date: 01-09-1976
Episode 102 (Greatest Show in Watts) Air Date: 01-16-1976
Episode 103 (Fred Sanford Has a Baby) Air Date: 01-23-1976
Episode 104 (The TV Addict) Air Date: 01-30-1976
Episode 105 (Lamont in Love) Air Date: 02-06-1976
Episode 106 (The Escorts) Air Date: 02-13-1976
Episode 107 (The Engagement Man Always Rings Twice) Air Date: 02-20-1976
Episode 108 (The Director) Air Date: 02-27-1976
Episode 109 (A Pain in the Neck) Air Date: 03-05-1976
Episode 100 (Sergeant Gork) Air Date: 03-12-1976
Episode 111 (Camping Trip) Air Date: 03-19-1976

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.